Some basic trans intro links

To start with I want to clarify: I am not trans, I am a straight ciswoman. There are a few reasons I wanted to post this (just a collection of links) – partly for myself and my own ongoing education in trans issues, and partly because perhaps some others might find it useful too. I was helped along by a few people on Twitter who gave me some of the links, so I’d like to say thank you to them for that.

Authors! If you’ve written something below and want your name/twitter name credited to it, or if you want the link to be removed, please leave a comment & let me know.

Queer Dictionary. I go back to this if I ever come across a word or an acronym in the following posts that I don’t understand, and it explains a lot. Pretty good for referencing back to, I think. This glossary of terms is also good.

Trans 101. The answers to questions you probably wanted to ask but were too scared to.

Not Your Mom’s Trans 101. Great 101 post covering all aspects of trans issues.

Gender – WTF? by @SonniesEdge – What it’s like to be trans.

A few great posts on the F word from a trans perspective. Especially like this one about newly found privilege, and how transitioning from F to M made the author a feminist.

Talking of new-found privilege – Hello Testosterone, Hello Heteronormative Privilege.

Feministe post, What Trans Means To Me.

Some articles about children or young people who are trans here.

Some tropes (same website)

‘Trans women are still men, right? Trans men are still women?’ No.

‘Trans women have patriarchal privilege.’ No.

‘Trans people treat gender as if it was not socially constructed.’ No.

‘Trans women are really just men in dresses, right?’ No.

There’s a few others on that website, Questioning Transphobia. All pretty interesting.

About A Girl
Mostly writes on Half The World Is Watching. She is interested in and writes about feminist issues, politics and activism. An 80s child at heart, she loves old things, computer games, and keeping up with the development of social media.

3 Responses to Some basic trans intro links

  1. Gina says:

    This trans woman totally applauds your set of links and your commitment to educate yourself on trans issues. Wooo hooo! Warms my heart.

  2. Thank you for trying to help educate other cis-gendered folks.

  3. Marsha says:

    I am in fact happy to read this blog posts which includes plenty of useful facts, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,856 other followers

